Synchronize Custom Ontologies and Custom Schemes

This section contains a short guide on how to synchronize custom ontologies and custom schemes easily.

Custom schemes are based on ontologies in PoolParty. You can synchronize ontologies (1) and custom schemes (2) so that any changes in an ontology are propagated to one or more custom schemes automatically. Depending on your use case this makes it easy to combine several custom schemes based on the respective ontologies into new knowledge graphs.

You might want to combine the ontologies for product, marketing and sales into one, without resolving the three separate existing knowledge models based on their respective ontologies. You can synchronize one or several custom schemes with one or several custom ontologies.

You can synchronize the following resources:

  • Classes

  • Relations

  • Attributes

When you decide at one point that you want to stop synchronizing one or more custom schemes and one or more ontologies, with a few clicks you can unlink them. You can also decide, if previously automatically synchronized classes, relations and attributes should be kept or removed.

The following topics will guide you through the steps of synchronizing ontologies and custom schemes in one of two ways or to stop synchronizing:

27891921.png

How to Synchronize a Custom Ontology From Inside a Custom Scheme

This section contains a short guide on how to synchronize a custom ontology when looking at a custom scheme in PoolParty.

  1. In your opened custom scheme, on the right in the Details View, click the Add icon in the section Synchronized Ontologies.

  2. The Link to Ontology dialogue opens.

  3. You can use the Filter field to start typing and thus per autocomplete find the desired ontology or ontologies.

  4. Activate one or all check boxes of the ontologies you want to keep synchronized with the current custom scheme.

  5. Click Save to confirm your changes.

Any ontologies you synchronize this way, will afterwards be listed in the section Synchronized Ontologies.

27891935.png

How to Synchronize a Custom Scheme From Inside a Custom Ontology

This section contains a short guide on how to synchronize a custom scheme when looking at an ontology in PoolParty.

  1. In your opened ontology, on the right in the Details View, click the Add icon in the section Synchronized Custom Schemes.

  2. The Link to Custom Scheme dialogue opens.

  3. You can use the Filter field to start typing and thus per autocomplete find the desired custom scheme or schemes.

  4. Activate one or all check boxes of the custom schemes you want to keep synchronized with the current ontology.

  5. Click Save to confirm your changes.

Any custom schemes you synchronize this way, will afterwards be listed in the section Synchronized Custom Schemes.

27891927.png

How to Stop Synchronizing a Custom Ontology or Custom Scheme

This section contains a short guide on how to deactivate the synchronization between custom ontology and custom scheme.

You can synchronize custom ontologies and custom schemes in PoolParty easily, by adding them to that section using the respective dialogue.

From that moment on, any changes you make in the ontology or ontologies are automatically propagated to the synchronized custom schemes.

If for any reason you decide at some point to deactivate the synchronization, a few easy steps will let you do so. Additionally, you have the possibility to decide if the changes introduced by automatic synchronization should be kept, or removed.

  1. In your opened ontology, on the right in the Details View, click the Add icon in the section Synchronized Custom Schemes.

  2. The Link to Custom Scheme dialogue opens.

  3. You can use the Filter field to start typing and thus per autocomplete find the desired custom scheme or custom schemes.

  4. Deactivate one or all check boxes of the custom schemes you want to stop from synchronizing with the current ontology.

  5. As soon as you deactivate a formerly synchronized custom scheme, a slider to the right will appear: Copy All Data. Per default it is set to 'copy'.

    • Move the slider to the right using your mouse cursor and it will change to Remove All Data.

    • As mentioned above, 'copy' will make sure, automatically synchronized resources (classes, relations and attributes) will be kept.

    • If you use 'remove', the automatically synchronized resources will be removed.

  6. Click Save to confirm your changes.

All custom schemes that had been listed in the section Synchronized Custom Schemes will be removed from that list.

Note

The steps described here are the same, when you look at a custom scheme and want to stop synchronizing from there.

27891946.png